Pulling Over

DSC_0764.jpg

Tonight I was driving through the backroads of this little town, enjoying how the fall weather has settled into my evenings quite nicely. I looked out my window and saw the stars for the first time in weeks. WEEKS.

It only took three seconds of an inner conflict before I pulled over on some random gravel road (sorry, mom and dad, this would not have been your advice for me) and I got my designated bonfire blanket out of my trunk. I threw that folded chunk of fabric down on the ground, grabbed the candy bar I had stashed in my glove compartment, sat down in the middle of the drive, threw some Ed Sheeran playlist on Spotify, and enjoyed seeing the night sky that has been hidden for so long by hurricane weather.

I knew I should’ve been home doing the homework I have yet to even start and I knew it was getting late, but I didn’t care because I needed a moment to be grateful for a Creator who designs night skies so well; a Creator who has a perfect calendar that allows just enough time to forget the exact hue of a Carolina sky so He can later restore so much joy when it all comes back for the afternoon.

Coming from the girl who had a flat tire at midnight on the side of the highway, lost track of deadlines for three classes’ worth of homework, and who has woken up at 9:05am for her 9:15am class for the past four school days, timing has been my weakest area of life recently. It has put me on a fast track to stress, leaving me no mental space to break up the constant information being funneled into my brain.

To be able to have five minutes to myself on some weird little country road with my pal, Ed, was perhaps exactly what I needed to remember that although my timing has been completely pathetic for the last week or so, my days are ruled by He alone, and that is all that matters.

So if you ever find yourself gaping out the window at something real cool, I suggest you stop and look at it before it disappears and perhaps you’ll realize some cool things about God and the stars and Ed Sheeran too. Just a thought coming to you from the living room couch.

2 thoughts on “Pulling Over

  1. I love this! Writing is definitely a sweet spot for you. “I needed a moment to be grateful for a Creator who designs night skies so well.” A beautiful reminder that sometimes we need to just Be Still. Thanks for sharing

  2. Mom

    Celia, your thoughts from the living room couch reminded me of this:
    “O Lord our God, the majesty and glory of your name fills all the earth and overflows the heavens. You have taught the little children to praise you perfectly. May their example shame and silence your enemies!
    When I look up into the night skies and see the work of your fingers—the moon and the stars you have made— I cannot understand how you can bother with mere puny man, to pay any attention to him!
    And yet you have made him only a little lower than the angels and placed a crown of glory and honor upon his head.
    You have put him in charge of everything you made; everything is put under his authority: all sheep and oxen, and wild animals too, the birds and fish, and all the life in the sea. O Jehovah, our Lord, the majesty and glory of your name fills the earth! -Psalm 8 NLT

Leave a Reply

