“Thanks For This Year”

DSC_0077

This morning I woke up to the remnants of my dorm room, ready to finish loading up my life. I was surrounded by cardboard boxes, a pile of laundry I was too lazy to wash, and a random, tangled pile of lights. In that space, the place between being asleep and acting like a normal person, where it’s a little foggy and you’re not sure if you’re still dreaming or not, I realized freshman year was actually over.

Who I was when I walked into Belk 202 and who I am now walking out of the same room are two different people, in a good way, but different nonetheless. I would love to recount every iconic and priceless moment I was a part of, but you and I both know we don’t have time for that. Instead, I’ll just talk about some things I learned about myself, roommates, and life over the last eight months.

– I learned I’m not very good at living with girls. I’m getting better, but as it turns out, living with one brother is actually no preparation for living with seven girls. (Yes, SEVEN GIRLS.)
– I learned time is short, so you better go to the pool and eat the cookie skillet and go to a midnight movie regardless of your early classes BECAUSE YOU CAN. So what’s a little missed sleep? Trust me, it’s better that way.

Screen Shot 2015-05-07 at 11.55.23 PM
– I learned Sunday mornings are the best for group breakfast and that the caf accepts you for who you are.
– I learned that people who are “huggers” are some of the easiest people to become friends with (maybe I should try to become a “hugger”)
– I learned to be more patient and understanding with people who view things differently than me.
– I also learned to stand up for what I know to be true, even if it’s a tough conversation that leads you to confrontation

Screen Shot 2015-05-07 at 11.55.47 PM
– I learned to not trust the quesadillas at the convenience store because I honestly don’t know if that’s chicken.
– I learned that friends who can talk about sensitive things and have hard conversations with each other are the best kinds of friends.
– I learned that being a Young Life leader is just being a friend who happens to also be in college.
– I learned that theater kids are just as weird as I always imagined.

DSC_0323
– I learned boys are very trusting when it comes to haircuts.
– I learned dumpster diving is actually a sport and should never be underestimated.
– I learned midnight baking projects bring people together.
– I learned “when in doubt, dance it out.” No seriously, sometimes it works.

Screen Shot 2015-05-07 at 11.55.02 PM
– I learned that false confidence and looking like you know what you’re doing are some of the most advantageous concepts you could ever embrace.
– I learned being a freshman isn’t the worst. I mean, it only lasts a year.
– I learned that the people you put into your life directly influence who you become, how you act, what you say, and who you are when nobody’s watching, so they better be the dang best people you can find.

IMG_5194

As I said goodbye to my sweet framily and found out I had allergies and something in my eye at the same time, my friend leaned in and said, “Thanks for this year,” and I couldn’t be more grateful myself. I am so lucky to have had the last year to learn these little nuggets of wisdom and to have grown closer to my Creator in the process.

But seriously, those quesadillas are sketchy.DSC_0757

Leave a Reply

