Cheers to 2014 – One of My Biggest Years Yet

DSC_0190

It’s been a big year. I feel unchanged after these 365 days, and yet the last year has brought some of the biggest moments of my life. Perhaps I’ll look back at this year with admiration of “the good times” and perhaps I’ll look back and laugh at myself for thinking such small things were so life-changing, but either way, it’s been a big one.

I’ve spent my afternoon reading through my blog, remembering what this year has brought, what this journey around the sun has been like, and I don’t feel anything but admiration for a year that shook up my friendships, introduced me to myself, gave me my biggest laughs, (some pretty big cries), and some small moments that turned into really big ones.

Last January, my resolution was to start writing again, to get back into something I’ve always enjoyed. And for the first time in my life, I actually managed to take that resolution all the way to the end (a pretty big accomplishment for a little couch potato like myself). But this year, I’m gonna stop being a stranger. I’m not going to let my fears and comparisons and insecurities determine how my relationships work. I’m going to step out of my comfort zone and fully engage in the friendships I’ve been keeping at arm’s length. I’m going to stop letting coincidence determine when I see the people I love. I’ve been letting coincidence determine too many things about my life. Am I the only one?

As 2014 comes to a close, and our next voyage around the sun begins, I hope I spend my days having what I need, loving what I have, giving all that I can, and spending a little more time looking at the stars. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

