Sundays On A Mountain

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset Right now it’s 10:14pm on a Wednesday. The blue sky is sleeping in this morning, having pulled the clouds over his head like a thick comforter blocking the warmth of the morning sun. This morning was the first time I’d stepped outside and realized autumn is here and there’s nothing I can do about it. I’m currently stuck in a communication class talking about the difference between literal and connotative language, but all I’d like to do is go back in time a few days and relive my weekend. Last week I took on the challenge of trying to convince the 15 college students that live with me and in the room next door to wake up before the sun, get in a small car with very little personal space, and go on an adventure with me. I didn’t know where we would go or what time we’d be back, but I was getting homesick for the mountains. Between the 15, some had schedule conflicts and projects to finish by Monday and various sports practices, but I managed to recruit 5 brave troops for our morning adventure with a little bribe that we could get Dunkin’ Donuts on the way there (because everybody loves donuts.) 7:00am hit us like a truck on Sunday morning. (Between you and me, I was regretting this idea more than anything. I’m not exactly a morning person.) Nevertheless, we loaded up our little cars and off we went. When I planned this whole trip out, I didn’t know the weather would be as perfect as it was. I don’t think there had been a clearer day in all of existence. We hiked up this trail for about an hour (thank goodness it was that short because otherwise my “let’s be adventurers” attitude would’ve dissolved very quickly) and finally made it to the top. Trying to find the words to describe the view and the morning itself is nearly impossible because it was amazing. We wandered out onto the farthest cliff and took it all in like a deep, heavy breath. I felt as though I was dangling in mid-air with the entire world within an arm’s length. Screen Shot 2014-09-23 at 10.58.09 AM We sat at the top of that mountain soaking it all in like six little sponges. We ate some granola bars, took a lot of pictures, sang a few songs from Frozen (as always), and loved every minute of it. I’ve always found so much joy in being at the top of a mountain. It gives me a chance to escape the day to day issues and get a better view of God. Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying that God only exists on a mountain, but I do think it’s easier to love an artist when you’re looking at his creation and it’s easier to know a writer when you’re reading his book. How can we expect to know Him if we never get a real good look at who He is and what He’s spun into existence? How can we expect to understand Him when we don’t take a little hike to the top and look around at his masterpieces? This weekend I was reminded that 1) Spontaneous adventures are the best, but they’re even better when shared with friends. 2) God is my favorite artist and it’s always exciting to find more of His work (but that doesn’t mean it’s hidden.) And 3) sometimes waking up early is a thousand times better than sleeping in. (But only sometimes). Now you know why this gloomy Wednesday is making my mind run an ongoing montage of moments from this sunny, incredible, and donut-filled weekend. My professor is now looking at me with suspicion…I guess my “I’m productively working” mask is starting to melt off my face. If he had gone with us this weekend, he would be daydreaming too. Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Leave a Reply

