You Were Made For This

I don’t know about all of you, but my weekend has been a crazy one. It’s incredible how 3 days can change your mentality, your knowledge, and your relationships. I was invited to go to the Carolina’s Region YoungLife leadership event at Myrtle Beach as a student leader. That’s a bunch of fancy words to say that I got to go hang out with a huge group of YoungLife leaders all weekend in Myrtle Beach. We were a motley crew: two young guy leaders, a newly-married YoungLife couple, my wedding-obsessed/best friend/second mom leader, the class clown with his bag of snacks, and a girl one year younger than me. I didn’t know what to expect. I was just in this for the fun of hanging out, late-night, life-changing discussions, and Krispy Kreme donuts. (If you haven’t already noticed a trend here, Krispy Kreme’s are my known weakness.) And although I didn’t have any to begin with, I knew my weekend was better than my expectations.

Not only did we get to have discussions and worship in the House of Blues (which is one of the craziest and funkiest places I’ve ever been) but it was led by the Cash Family Band, who chose to be with us instead of at the Grammys to celebrate their nomination. I mean I love you guys, but I probably would’ve picked the Grammys had I been given the same option.

Over these three days, I got to try crab legs. I got to see my leaders eat until they passed out in a food-coma. I got to see my friend who I haven’t seen since seventh grade. I got to sleep in a fancy hotel bed. I got to focus on who I am and who I want to be; more importantly, who God wants me to be. I got to spend time with my leaders and friends. And I got to laugh a lot. This experience has taught me a few things: 1) Don’t ever challenge grown men to an all-you-can-eat buffet. They win by a landslide every time. 2) Nothing brings people together like donuts and late-night dance parties 3) Maybe I really was made for this.

Leave a Reply

