Skiing Isn’t That Bad

Peer Pressure

Two years ago, when my family and I decided to go skiing, I vowed I would never do it again. I had frozen toes, fingers, lips, icicles in my eyebrows, and I was just plain miserable. Surprisingly, it only took a few friends and a small Krispy Kreme bribe to get me back on the mountain today. So here I went again, under about six layers of clothing, heading into what felt like a frozen tundra. Some of my guy friends, of whom had never been skiing, vowed that they would eventually make it down some black diamond slopes before the day’s end. I thought they were nuts, and let’s not be confused here, they definitely were, but they actually did it. I had the time of my life watching them fall and tumble and take out other people in an attempt to get their grips on this sport. They fell every direction, but eventually, they did alright. And by the day’s end, they did what I had begged them not to: they voluntarily put themselves down black diamond slopes. Today, from some guys I wouldn’t consider to be the wisest, I learned a few things: 1) Skiing really isn’t that bad. 2) You really can do anything, no matter how clichΓ© it sounds. 3) Don’t ever underestimate someone who has more determination and courage than fear. They are invincible.

If you’ve had a similar experience or learned something funny from skiing, feel free to comment! I can’t wait to hear your stories!

Leave a Reply

